Volunteer: An unforgettable experience at Our Cabana (English) – Korrapin (Thailand)

Photo_Korrapin-LertkittisukHello! My name is Korrapin Lertkittisuk, a Girl Guide from Thailand. I was a Volunteer during Summer Friendship Event (from August, 1st to 9th, 2014), and I want to share with you my experience, and unforgettable experience at the World Centre.

The event had several kinds of activity for the participants such as Wide-Game, Campfire, Mexican Crafts and Culture, Service Project, International Night, Sightseeing, Hiking plus working on the “Stop the Violence” and “Free Being Me” projects from WAGGGS. It had about 40 participants from United Kingdom, Trinidad and Tobago, and Thailand.

My favorite activity was the Service Project at the Food Bank in Cuernavaca, Morelos. Since I have a bachelor’s degree in Community Development, this is an opportunity for me to learn about working and helping people in Mexico. I shared my experience with Girl Guides in Thailand, my professors and their students in Social Service Management major, and Community Development major at Burapha University, Thailand. It is an interesting case study for them.

Moreover, I made new friends, learned Mexican culture, and learned about WAGGGS’ projects.

The staff and the rest of the volunteers were very friendly and helpful. We all had a very good time at Our Cabana.

Leave a Reply

