My experience with participants / Mi experiencia con las participantes

0IMG_5548

(Spanish version below)

I am a Tanzanian Girl in Mexico who is part of the staff at this world centre who are making the dreams of  girl guides and girl scouts from around the world to come true.

My time spent with the Friends of Our Cabana was beautiful and very memorable. I had just a glimpse of how passionate they are in scouting and guiding. They devote their time to fundraising, with the purpose of making dreams come true. They were right in saying that “Once a Girl Guide always a Girl Guide” and “If it’s not fun then it is not guiding” they certainly made their stay at Our Cabana fun. Their individual stories were interesting and inspirational. Their encouragement to myself, a young Doctor with a lot of aspirations were very sweet and made me feel stronger.

Reading the book, “The First 50 years” by Alix Liddell, that I borrowed from Kay, a Friend of Cabana was another great way of exploring Guiding provided to me by the Friends.

Nothing surpasses celebrating World thinking Day at a world centre with different Guides and Scouts from around the world, being able to share your culture and learn from them. The most interesting part was how much people liked my hair style and the young Mexican Guias asking to take pictures with me- I became a little super star in a crowd! Also, sharing and teaching each other guiding songs felt really good, especially when I taught them the Swahili song that involves Animals in Swahili.

We met a group of Guides visiting the world centres- it was exciting to hear about their adventures.

Meeting Marie from New Zealand travelling alone across South America was very much inspiring.

My experiences with each of the participants left an imprint on my heart which I will treasure forever.

Thank you all for visiting Our Cabana and leaving this Tanzanian Girl with memories to never forget.

VERSION EN ESPAÑOL

Soy una chica de Tanzania en México que forma parte del staff de este Centro Mundial quienes hacen que los sueños de Guías y Guías Scouts de todo el mundo se hagan realidad.

Tuve la oportunidad de compartir un evento con las “Amigas de Nuestra Cabaña” fue hermoso y memorable. Y fue una pequeña probadita para ver la pasión con la que están involucradas en el Guidismo/Escultismo. Ellas dedican su tiempo a la recaudación de fondos, con el propósito de hacer que muchos sueños se hagan realidad. Tienen razón al decir que “una vez Guía, siempre guía” y “si no es divertido, entonces no es Guidismo” y sin duda hicieron que su estancia en Nuestra Cabaña fuera muy divertida. Sus historias individuales fueron interesantes e inspiradoras. Me alentaron, – a una joven doctora con muchas aspiraciones-, lo que fue muy dulce y me hizo sentir más fuerte.

Al leer el libro “Los primeros 50 años” de Alix Liddell, que Kay, una “Amiga de Nuestra Cabaña” me prestó fue otra excelente forma de explorar el Guidismo que me brindaron las “Amigas”.

Nada supera la celebración del Día Mundial del Pensamiento en un centro mundial con diferentes Guías y Scouts de todo el mundo, pudiendo compartir su cultura y aprender de ellos. La parte más interesante fue conocer a cuánta gente le gustaba mi estilo de peinado y las Guias de México pidiéndome tomarse fotos conmigo, ¡Me convertí un poco en super estrella en una multitud! Además, compartiendo y enseñando unas a otras canciones guías. Me sentí muy bien, especialmente cuando les enseñé una canción en swahili que habla sobre los animales.

Conocí a un grupo de Guías que visitarán los 4 centros mundiales, fue emocionante oír sobre sus aventuras. Además conocer a Marie de Nueva Zelanda que ha viajado sola por América del Sur fue muy inspirador.

Mis experiencias con cada una de las participantes han dejado una huella en mi corazón que atesoraré para siempre.

Gracias a todas por visitar Nuestra Cabaña y dejar a esta chica de Tanzania con recuerdos que nunca olvidará.

 

One thought on “My experience with participants / Mi experiencia con las participantes”

  1. Am proud of you Helga, you’ve proven to many of us outside here that nothing is impossible when you put in hardwork and determination. I remember the passion you had for girlguides when I was in your country for an exchange and that has motivated me more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

