What have I discovered at Our Cabaña? / ¿Qué he descubierto en Nuestra Cabaña?

Blog 31.03.17(SPANISH BELOW)

So, three months into my time volunteering here at Our Cabaña and now I ask myself, what have I discovered during my time here?

Firstly, I have experienced been able to experience a range of cultures, from ones not so dissimilar to my own to those that I had never even encountered before. As a result of this, I am having a rich international experience whilst here at Our Cabaña, being able to learn different ways of doing things and adapting my own approach, learning new campfire songs, and (possibly the most exciting part…) discovering new food recipes.

I have also discovered my love of nature and the natural environment whilst here at Our Cabaña, from the stunningly delicate purple jacarandas to the thrilling thunderstorms that lead some of us to stand outside in the rain, to listen to the loud rolling thunder and watch the lightning strikes. There is such a variety of plants around Our Cabaña, from the beautiful blossom in the St Francis Garden to the prickly cactus garden to the tranquil lemon tree garden, and all of them somehow come together in harmony at Our Cabaña, so much so that one of my favourite things to do is to wander around the grounds around 6/7pm just as the sun is going down and appreciate all of what nature has to offer.

However perhaps most importantly I have discovered my love of working with people. Interacting with new and different people, learning about them and their experiences. As you can probably imagine, this can sometimes be physically exhausting, but realising that I am capable of staying up until 5am watching films (with Spanish subtitles, of course) and talking with my new friends has proven to me that I love spending time with people. The busy, hectic weekend of World Thinking Day celebrations here at Our Cabaña, with over 120 participants, has been by far one of my favourite parts of my time volunteering here, there was so much excitement, enthusiasm and energy coming from everyone that it was infectious and impossible not to enjoy yourself.

All in all, I have discovered that I am in love with travelling, nature and people!

 

Anna Bambrick, UK

SPANISH VERSION

Bien, han pasado ya tres meses de mi voluntariado en Nuestra Cabaña y ahora me pregunto qué he descubierto en todo ese tiempo aquí.

Primero, he experimentado muchas culturas, desde las que son similares a la mía hasta aquellas con las que nunca me había encontrado. Como resultado, estoy teniendo una gran experiencia internacional, desde aprender modos diferentes de hacer las cosas y darles mi enfoque personal, aprender juegos y canciones de fogata y (tal vez la parte más emocionante…) descubrir nuevas recetas de comida.

También mientras estoy aquí he descubierto mi amor por la naturaleza y el medio ambiente, desde los púrpura increíblemente delicados de las jacarandas, hasta las emocionantes tormentas eléctricas que invitan a algunas de nosotras a estar bajo la lluvia, y escuchar los fuertes truenos y ver caer los rayos. Hay una gran variedad de plantas alrededor de nuestra Cabaña, desde las hermosas flor en el jardín de San Francisco, el jardín de cactus espinosos, y hasta el tranquilo jardín de los limoneros; y todos ellos de alguna manera se unen en armonía en Nuestra Cabaña, una de las cosas que más me gusta hacer es pasear por los jardines alrededor de las 6/7 pm justo cuando el sol se está ocultando y apreciar todo lo que la naturaleza tiene para ofrecer.

Sin embargo quizás lo más importante que he descubierto es mi amor por trabajar con la gente. Interactuar con personas nuevas y diferentes, aprender sobre ellas y sus experiencias. Como se puede imaginar, esto a veces puede ser físicamente agotador, pero darme cuenta de que soy capaz de permanecer hasta las 5 am ver películas (con subtítulos en español, por supuesto) y hablar con mis nuevos amigos me ha demostrado que me encanta pasar tiempo con gente. El atareado fin de semana del Día Mundial del Pensamiento aquí en Nuestra Cabaña, con más de 120 participantes, ha sido una de mis experiencias favoritas de mi tiempo de voluntariado aquí, hubo tanta emoción, entusiasmo y energía de parte de todos que era contagioso e imposible no disfrutar.

Y en general, he descubierto que… ¡me encanta viajar, la naturaleza y las personas!

 

 

Leave a Reply

