What have I learnt at Our Cabaña? / ¿Qué aprendí en Nuestra Cabaña?

ok Blog 28.04.17

SPANISH BELLOW

With so many different cultures, practises and traditions here at Our Cabaña it would have been impossible for me not to learn something new.

From learning how to make guacamole the true Mexican way to being taught how to wipe the tables at Our Cabaña (believe me, this is something special) there is no end to learning new things here at Our Cabaña. For instance, I have discovered different games that have come from Poland, Venezuela, Mexico, (I could go on and on), giving me new ideas and ways to make the programme back home a bit more exciting and different for my girls.

Unsurprisingly at Our Cabaña I have been given a renewed understanding of the importance of the Girl Guiding movement. Seeing the way in which participants’ dreams come true through their visit to Our Cabaña, as for many it has been a life-long wish to visit this “little cabin in the woods” (well, little cabin in the city of eternal spring), warms my heart and makes me feel truly happy to be part of such a fantastic organisation. But Guiding does not only benefit its members, it also helps the wider community, through activities such as service projects. Being able to witness the impact such small things can have upon children from the local orphanage or from the women’s shelter, such as a craft that they can keep, reminds me of the simplistic beauty of the Girl Guiding movement.

Furthermore, working with such a wide variety of people during my time here has given me an insight into different personality types, which in turn has helped me to see how to approach different situations appropriately. This has undoubtedly helped me to improve my communication skills, for example, I have learnt how to try to explain things in a different manner when at first someone has perhaps not quite understood.

I have also learnt a bit of Spanish during my time here, which I plan to build upon and start to use more when I return to volunteer at Our Cabaña over the summer. But most importantly, I have also learnt that some of the people that I admire and respect most in the world are those who can speak and understand different languages to their own, especially because for the majority of the staff and volunteers that I am working with at Our Cabaña English is their second language. However, if it was not for their ability to communicate not only in Spanish, or Swahili, I know that my time here at Our Cabaña would’ve been nowhere near as fun, hilarious and enjoyable as it has been, and for that I am eternally grateful and appreciative of their time and patience with me.

Overall, during my time at Our Cabaña I have learnt just how diverse and exciting our world is.


VERSION EN ESPAÑOL

Con tan diferentes culturas, prácticas y tradiciones que hay en Nuestra Cabaña sería imposible para mi no aprender algo nuevo.

Desde aprender como hacer guacamole en el más puro estilo mexicano, hasta aprender como limpiar las mesas (créeme , esto es algo muy especial) no hay fin para aprender cosas nuevas. Por ejemplo, he descubierto diferentes juegos con orígenes tan distintos como Polonia, Venezuela, Mexico, (y podría seguir y seguir), que me han dado nuevas ideas y modos de hacer que cuando regrese a casa mi programa sea más divertido y diferente para mis Guías.

No es de sorprender que Nuestra Cabaña me haya dado un renovado entendimiento de la importancia del Movimiento Guía. Desde el punto de vista en el cual los sueños de las participantes se vuelven realidad cuando visitan Nuestra Cabaña, ya que para muchas de ellas es un deseo de toda su vida “Visitar la pequeña cabaña en el bosque” (bueno, pequeña cabaña en la “Ciudad de la Eterna Primavera”). Eso alegra mi corazón y me hace sentir verdaderamente feliz de ser parte de una organización tan fantástica.

Pero el Guidismo no sólo beneficia a sus miembros, también a toda la comunidad, a través de actividades como el servicio comunitario. Ser testigo del impacto que acciones tan pequeñas pueden tener en los niños del orfanato o del refugio de mujeres; como una manualidad que puedan guardar y considerar como suya, me recuerda la sencilla belleza del Movimiento Guía.

Además, trabajar con una gran variedad de personas durante mi estancia aquí me ha dado una visión de diferentes tipos de personalidad, que a su vez me ha ayudado a ver cómo abordar adecuadamente diferentes situaciones. Esto, sin duda, me ha ayudado a mejorar mis habilidades de comunicación, por ejemplo, he aprendido cómo explicar las cosas de una manera diferente cuando al principio alguien quizás no ha entendido bien.

También he aprendido un poco de español durante mi tiempo aquí, que planeo mejorar y  usar más cuando vuelva a ser voluntaria en Nuestra Cabaña durante el verano. Pero lo más importante es que también he aprendido que algunas de las personas que más admiro y respeto en el mundo son aquellas que pueden hablar y entender diferentes lenguas, especialmente porque para la mayoría del personal y los voluntarios con los que estoy trabajando en Nuestra Cabaña, el inglés es su segunda lengua. Sin embargo, si no fuera por su habilidad para comunicarse no solo en español, o en swahili, sé que mi estancia en Nuestra Cabaña no habría sido tan divertida, hilarante y agradable como ha sido, y por eso estoy eternamente agradecida y aprecio el tiempo y paciencia que han tenido conmigo.

Sobre todo, durante mi estancia en Nuestra Cabaña he aprendido lo diverso y excitante que es nuestro mundo.

 

Leave a Reply

