Why Volunteer? / ¿Por qué ser voluntaria?

voluntarias 0IMG_9858

Versión en español abajo

I have been the headquarters volunteer as a young leader helping out with planning, trainings and being a representative. My first guiding international experience at the wold centre was very wonderful and noticed that there is a very good opportunity of being a volunteer at a world centre and get to learn on different leadership skills.

Having a dream of being a volunteer outside my country, through guiding this dream was going to be achieved

The main reason of applying for volunteering at the world centre was learning ways of administration and programme coordinating. This is going to be useful for me back home in sharing what I have learnt to the girl guides at the guiding headquarters together with the staff. Getting more oriented with the WAGGGS Initiatives has been one of the biggest motivation too. Specifically Stop the violence. I would like to have this programme a success back to my MO.

Moreover, getting to experience the guiding international vibe. This is through meting participants visiting the word Centre from different countries. You get to learn a lot from the participants on different guiding activities.

This has been an experience too. Getting myself outside the comfort zone. I have been able to do things that I haven’t been able to do like painting.

My Four months as a volunteer has been fruitful and my dreams have been made true and I believe I will manage in implementing and making the dreams of other girls coming true with the loving Spirit I got from here at Our Cabana.


VERSION EN ESPAÑOL

He sido voluntaria ayudando en la planeación, capacitación y siendo representante de mi asociación. Mi primera experiencia internacional en un Centro Mundial fue maravillosa y me di cuenta de que hay buenas oportunidades de voluntariado y de aprender y desarrollar diferentes habilidades de liderazgo.

Siempre había tenido el sueño de ser voluntaria fuera de mi país y a través del Guidismo lo he logrado.

Además, tener la experiencia de experimentar el ambiente del Guidismo internacional a través de conocer a las participantes de diferentes países que visitan Nuestra Cabaña. Puedes aprender tanto de ella a través de diferentes actividades guías.

La principal razón para aplicar como voluntaria en un Centro Mundial fue aprender otras formas de administrar y coordinar en el área de programa. Esto me será muy útil cuando regrese a casa y comparta lo que he aprendido con las Guías y el staff en la sede de mi organización. Ahora estoy más empapada de las iniciativas de la AMGS que ha sido también otra de las motivaciones importantes. Específicamente en Alto a la Violencia. Me encantaría llevar este programa a mi propia organización.

Salirme de mi zona de confort ha sido toda una experiencia también. He podido hacer cosas que antes simplemente ni siquiera hubiera intentado, como pintar por ejemplo.

Los cuatro meses que pasé en Nuestra Cabaña como voluntaria han sido fructíferos y mis sueños se han convertido en realidad y tengo la certeza de que haré todo lo posible para hacer que los sueños de otras Guías se hagan realidad a través de este espíritu de amor y amistad que encontré en Nuestra Cabaña.

 

Leave a Reply

