Safe Arrival / Llegué segura

IMG_0511

Kate Hanna

SPANISH VERSION BELLOW

I have travelled a fair amount (I’ve been to twelve countries and counting!) and I have not always felt safe.  I’ve stayed at some sketchy hotels, walked around towns where I don’t speak the language and been in much larger crowds than my poor Canadian sensibilities can handle.  However, that has never been the case when I have travelled with and to Girl Guide events.

I have been a member of Girl Guides of Canada – Guides du Canada for 18 years and there are few places I feel as comfortable as at a Girl Guide camp or meeting.  Girl Guides provides a feeling of security and confidence just by doing what we do best: be prepared.  When I arrived in Mexico City at just before midnight, one of the security guards noticed my uniform and asked “Guias?  Cuernavaca?” (Assuming correctly that I wouldn’t understand that much Spanish).  When I replied yes, he gave me a big smile and led me directly to the bus I needed to take to get here.  Within twenty minutes, I was on the bus heading for Cuernavaca!

By the time I got to Cuernavaca, it was 1:30 in the morning.  Once I got my bag and had just sat down, who should arrive but June, the Programme Coordinator, and Anto, the Programme Intern.  Nothing says welcome like people willing to stay up until the middle of the night for you.  If you come and visit us, I know you will feel just as welcome!


 

VERSION EN ESPAÑOL

¡He viajado mucho! (he estado en doce países y sigo contando). Y no siempre me he sentido segura. Me he alojado en algunos hoteles no tan buenos, caminado por ciudades donde hablan un idioma diferente al mío y entre grandes multitudes de mi pobre sensibilidad canadiense apenas puede manejar. Sin embargo, eso nunca me ha pasado cuando he viajado con y a evento de las Guías.

He sido miembro de las Girl Guides of Canada – Guides du Canada por 18 años y hay pocos lugares en los que me siento tan cómoda y segura como en un campamento o junta de las Guías. Las Guías siempre me han brindado el sentimiento de seguridad y confianza haciendo lo que mejor sabemos hacer: “Estar Preparada”

Cuando llegué a la Ciudad de México justo antes de la media noche, uno de los guardias de seguridad del aeropuerto al ver mi uniforme pregunto: ¿Guías? ¿Cuernavaca? (asumiendo correctamente que no entendería mucho español). Cuando le contesté que sí, me regaló una enorme sonrisa y me guió directamente hasta el autobús que debía tomar para llegar aquí. ¡A los 20 minutos, estaba en el autobús viajando hacia Cuernavaca!

Cuando llegué a Cuernavaca eran ya la 1:30 de la madrugada. Llegando recuperé mi maleta y me senté a esperar, y justo llegaron June y Anto la coordinadora y la interna de programa.  Nada te hace sentir tan bienvenida como la gente que es capaz de esperar por ti despierta hasta la madrugada. Si vienes de visita, ¡con toda seguridad te sentirán igual de bienvenida!

Leave a Reply

